Cathie Archbould took it. But it came from Cando who hired Cathie. .jpgNaa Shaáde Háni

Richard Sidney is the Naa Shàade Háni (Chief) of the Teslin Tlingit Council

Born and raised in Teslin, Yukon, he is wolf and part of the Yanyèdí Clan and citizen of the Teslin Tlingit Council.  The oldest son of a family of seven, Richard grew up with a sense responsibility and dedication.  As a child, he was taught Tlingit, which he speaks fluently.  He is proud of his heritage and has served his people since he was a young man.

Richard has worked for the Teslin Tlingit in many capacities and for many years.  As a young man, he was part of the negotiating team for the Final and Self-government Agreements. He has represented the Teslin Tlingit on many boards and committees including being the Naa Shaáde Háni from 1984 to 1986 and then again from 1996 to 2000.  In 2005, he became President of Tle Nax T’awei Group.  He relinquished this position in July 2016 when he became, once again, Naa Shaáde Háni for the Teslin Tlingit Council.

Richard loves the outdoors and spends his free time at his cabin on Wolf Lake.  He is the father of 3 grown children and the grandfather of two grandchildren. Richard continues to strive for the betterment of his community, TTC citizens and the Yukon. 

Past  Naa Sháade Háni

  • Carl Sidney (2012-2016)

  • Peter Johnston (2008 - 2012) interim 2005/6
  • Eric Morris (2000 - 2008) on leave 2005/6
  • Richard Sidney (1996 - 2000)
  • Dave Keenan (1988 - 1996)
  • Robert Lee Jackson (1986 - 1988)
  • Richard Sidney (1984 - 1986)
  • Robert Lee Jackson (1984)
  • Sam Johnston (1970 - 1984)

 Honorable mention to past Naa Shaáde Háni :

  • Frank Sidney

  • Joe Squam
  • William Johnston

Helpful Links

Left to right: Peter Johnston, Sam Johnston, Richard Sidney, Eric Morris and Dave Keenan

Auto Scroller